Pride – The Spiritual Cancer 

There are two kinds of people, both good and bad. ‘Good pride’ represents our dignity and self-respect. ‘Bad pride’ deadly sin of superiority that reeks conceit and arrogance” – John C. Maxwell 

Now this here is what I had to get rid of myself because it is indeed a spiritual cancer. It slowly destroys you inside but then because your ego is so colossal you don’t want to admit it even though you are aware of it. I am speaking from experience so I know how destructive it is.

“A man’s pride can be his downfall, and he needs to learn when to turn to others for support and guidance” – Bear Grylls

But honestly, I am thankful to God that I had realised this demonic spirit at an early age in my life unlike people who still suffer from this spiritual cancer even in their old age. I promise you, if you could just sit down with them and ask if did they honestly enjoy life, they might say yes (cause of pride) but deep down they know that they didn’t. Pride causes a rift between two people, which ultimately pushes the other one away. As a people we need each other. No person on earth can live alone in an island and honestly say they’re happy. You can have all the money, cars and mansions but if you are all alone with those things you will not fully enjoy them. But that’s what pride does when the other one who has it keeps pushing people away. They eventually feel alone because no one wants to be around someone who puts them down at every opportunity they get because they feel they are better than everyone. Even so, though the person realises the situation at hand, because of their pride, they will not even have the humility to apologise.

I have been in relationships with people who have been great partners, however, I have lost them all due pride. My pride stemmed from me thinking too much of myself. I mean hey, I do look deliciously handsome. So I used to say to myself “I’m actually doing this girl a favor by dating me. A lot of girls would want to have this piece of Black Forest cake but I let her have the whole damn thing! So in actually fact, she should be grateful to me.” Yeah I know man… I was just bad! Whenever one of my relationships would end, I was never bothered because I would get and date another girl. But I’m not the only one to be blamed for this because most of these girls used to come back and want to date me again. So I got used to that cycle hence my ego used to grow bigger and bigger whenever that happened. Be that may be though, I do take full blame for everything. Thank goodness I was able to recognise this destructive behaviour before it did any more damage and was able to get rid of it. 

Now I have become a better person when it comes to romantic relationships and a better person as a whole. Now I am able to detect it at an early stage and choose humility instead of acting on it. And let me tell you it is a great feeling, over all! I hope and encourage people who suffer from this spiritual cancer can actually get rid of it and lead a happy, loving life. It will be hard at first but as time goes on if you choose humility over ego, you will eventually get rid of it. #Self_Improvement #SWisdom 

Leave a Reply

